Library Christian Volbracht

A choice of the nicest, rarest and most important mycological works

The Library

This collection startet more than 25 years ago and the library has grown up to about 4000 volumes. In the center are the Great Mushroom Books - milestones of Mycology and the great illustrated iconographies. But there are many other, often very rare works, especially from the time before Linnaeus' Species plantarum (1753) up to Fries (1821). I have a special taste for mushroom-cookery and a rich selection of mycogastronomical works, especially on truffels. But I collect popular works too, including small mushroom-guides.

Some books deal mainly with other plants than fungi, but are of great mycological importance, for example the works by Clusius, Micheli, Hedwig, Scopoli, Schmidel or the early Herbals. As an important example for the latter Bocks Kreuterbuch in the first illustrated edition of 1546 is present. One of the earliest mushroom-plates from the Ortus sanitatis (1491) has become the label of Mykolibri. From 1481 dates the oldest work in the collection, the first italian edition of Plinius, an incunable representing the knowledge of the antiquity on fungi. The oldest object is a mushroom stone from Central America, created in the classic period of the Maya, 1500 years ago, about 300 - 600 A. D.

Many works are from famous collections, as Schliemann, De Belder, Marcus Crahan or The New York Horticultural Society or are inscribed by important mycologists as Boudier, Quélet, Fries, Gillet, Bresadola, Rea, Petch, Ramsbottom and many others.

Rarissima and Desiderata

There are notable Rarissmia or "unfindable" works in the library: a complete collection of the books by Persoon, the complete Bulliard with the second text-volume and the additions by Letellier and Lucand and many others, for example M. C Cookes extremely rare "The seven sisters of sleep" (1860) with a chapter on the hallucinogenic Amanita muscaria.
We consider as Rarissimum all books which have never occured on the market during the last 25 years or only in one or two copies. Very rare ar books offered not more than twice in 5 years.

A collection evolves and will never be "complete". Many modern works remain excluded.
On top of the list of desiderata are Britzelmayrs works, of which I found a small part only.
I am always interested in offers of old and used mycological books to be added to the library.

Contact and expertising

Any question concerning old mycological literature will be answered with pleasure. I offer expertising on old books and whole collections too.
Visitors are welcome by special appointment.

Back

deutsch · english · français
© 2001-2018 Christian Volbracht. All rights reserved. Design, Programming, Hosting: Dibomedia Internetservices

Bibliothek Christian Volbracht

Eine Auswahl der schönsten, seltensten und wichtigsten Werke der Mykologie

Die Bibliothek

Die Sammlung wurde vor über 25 Jahren begonnen und und umfasst heute etwa 4000 Bände. Schwerpunkte der Bibliothek sind die Großen Pilzbücher - wissenschaftliche Meilensteine der Mykologie und die großen Ikonographien. Aber auch andere, oft sehr seltene Arbeiten aus der Zeit vor Linnés Species plantarum (1753) und zwischen Linné und Fries (1821) sind wichtig. Daneben zeigt sich eine Vorliebe für die "Küchenmykologie" mit reicher mykogastronomischer Literatur und dem Schwerpunkt Trüffel. Dazu sammele ich populärwissenschaftliche Pilzliteratur bis hin zum kleinen Pilzführer.

Manche Bücher behandeln Pilze nur am Rande, sind aber dennoch von hervorragender mykologischer Bedeutung, etwa die Werke von Clusius, Micheli, Hedwig, Scopoli oder Schmidel. Dies gilt auch für die frühen Kräuterbücher, für die stellvertretend Bocks „Kreuterbuch“ in der ersten illustrierten Ausgabe von 1546 in der Sammlung steht. Eine Pilztafel aus dem Ortus Sanitatis von 1491 wurde zum Signum von Mykolibri. Frühestes Buch der Sammlung ist ein Wiegendruck, die erste italienische Ausgabe des Plinius von 1481. Die Inkunabel steht als Beispiel für das Wissen des Altertums über Pilze. Das älteste Objekt der Sammlung ist ein gut 1500 Jahre alter Pilzstein, aus der klassischen Periode der Mayas, 300 bis 600 vor Christus.

Viele Werke stammen aus bedeutenden Sammlungen wie Schliemann, De Belder, Marcus Crahan, The New York Horticultural Society oder aus den Handbibliotheken berühmter Mykologen wie Boudier, Quélet, Fries, Gillet, Bresadola, Rea, Petch, Ramsbottom und vielen anderen.

Rarissima und Desideratae

Zu den Rarissima oder „unfindbaren“ Werken der Mykologe in der Sammlung gehören sämtliche als Bücher erschienenen Schriften Persoons, der vollständige Bulliard mit dem Text und den Ergänzungen von Letellier und Lucand oder Krapfs Beschreibung der Schwämme.
Unter einem Rarissimum verstehe ich ein Buch, das in 25 Jahren nie oder nur ein- bis zweimal angeboten wird. Sehr selten sind Bücher, die nur alle zwei bis fünf Jahre einmal auftauchen.

Eine Sammlung entwickelt sich und wird niemals vollständig sein. Viele moderne Werke werden gar nicht mehr aufgenommen.
Ganz oben auf der Desiderata-Liste stehen Britzelmayrs Pilztafeln, von denen ich nur einen Teil finden konnte.
An Angeboten älterer und gebrauchter Literatur in schönem Zustand - auch von bereits vorhandenen Werken - bin ich stets interessiert.

Kontakt und Expertisen

Fachfragen zur älteren Pilzliteratur werden gern beantwortet, wir schätzen auch den Wert von einzelnen seltenen Büchern und Sammlungen.
Besuche bitte nur nach vorheriger Vereinbarung.

Zurück

deutsch · english · français
© 2001-2017 Christian Volbracht. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Design, Programmierung, Hosting: Dibomedia Internetservices